Hey! I'm Ella. I've got two sisters, a boyfriend called Tom and mates that live all around the world. I grew up in the UAE, studied in Leeds and now live in London. 

Professionally

I am a freelance user researcher. I’m experienced in working in a fast paced agile environment within a multidisciplinary team, planning and leading research activities throughout all design life cycles with both internal and external stakeholders. I'm familiar with taking services through GDS and internal service assessments and I'm skilled at helping teams prepare for them. 

 

I also manage operational support at Democracy Club.

Experience

Public sector jobs make it difficult to talk about my specific projects. I will write a blog post about how I work soon, in the meantime here's a good place to start.

Work

2019 - present London

User researcher @ Cabinet Office 

2018 - 2019 London

User researcher & Ethics board member @ Home Office 

2017 - 2018 London

User researcher @ HMRC

2015 - 2017 Leeds 

Data @ Diabetes Prevention Scheme

2014 - 2015 Leeds

Data @ NHS

University

2019-2019 

Digital anthropology, UCL

2015 - 2017

MA Social and Political Thought, Leeds University 

 

2012 - 2015

BSc Psychology, Leeds Trinity University 

Training

  • GDS user research fundamentals 

  • GDS accessibility training 

  • GDS assisted digital training 

  • Ethics expert training

  • Service assessor training

Side projects

cyberwomen.co.uk

The post to read to get to know me better:

25 things at 25

Features

Talks

Email me for access

  • The Imposter Syndrome's Guide to Public Speaking @ Triangirls 

  • Career Stuff @ Women in Tech Network for the Digital, Data & Technology Civil Service Fast Stream

  • User research during political uncertainty @ Home Office Digital quarterly meet up

Communities

  • Candles 

  • a11y

  • Triangles

  • Liberating Structures

  • London Accessibility Meetup

  • Service Lab London

  • The Research Thing

  • GovTech 

  • Code First: Girls

  • London Gov Design Meetup

  • CitizenBeta

Some things I'm super proud of

  • Getting over my fear of public speaking

  • Getting therapy for PTSD

  • Having pre-cancerous cells removed from my cervix 

  • Quitting my super secure civil service job and going freelance

  • Working with my fear of needles - I can get a blood test now without passing out!!

  • Solo travel (Melbourne, Sydney & New York) 

  • Interviewing over 30 people for my #InterviewSeries​

  • Becoming an instructor for Code First: Girls introduction to web development 

 

Let's go for coffee, find me @botting_ella/ Ella Botting

Or email me at ellabotting@cyberwomen.co.uk